Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Starting out in Spectroscopy?

Hi, I am interested in starting some simple spectroscopy. This is primarily aimed at workshops for astronomy GCSE students to let them see some of the theoretical elements of the course in practice. I am considering the Star Analyser 1.25” diffraction grating. I have a variety of telescopes at my disposal, the main one being a 10” Thomas Cooke refractor. I am an experienced astrophotographer, but a total newbie to spectroscopy. What can I realistically expect to manage with ‘basic’ equipment? How long an exposure is required to create a spectrum? I have a ZWO ASI 120 MC-S camera or a DSLR available for use. Are either of these going to be suitable?

As you can see from my questions I am clueless at the moment, but would love to get something up and running, so your help will be greatly appreciated. 

I am sure Robin will be along with lots of good advice and links but try www.rspec-astro.com for some ideas. 

You will need software to analyse the spectra and rspec has a free trial if I remember correctly. 

Also try Rrobin's site www.threehillsobservatory.co.uk

Regards Andrew 

There is a spread sheet floating around in threads here that is very useful and you should look it up.

It gives basic calculations depending on configuration used - of what you can expect to achieve with SA.

I think that better option is to go for mono sensor, but OSC can be used as well.

Important aspects are F/ratio of beam (too wide and it will introduce aberrations in spectrum), distance to sensor - also SA100 vs SA200 models - different dispersion, and sensor size and pixel scale will be important.