SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Which Telescope is good for deep sky astrophotography?

Hi i'm new to astronomy and bought my first telescope a 76x700. 

Its good at taking pictures of the moon, i'm thinking about buying a new telescope.

Is a Celestron 130EQ good for astrophotography? It has a focal length of 650mm so an F/5.

Would this be good for taking pictures of the Orion nebula and Andromeda Galaxy. 

Thanks!

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The mount you are using is more important that the scope. What do you currently have? Also what camera are you using?

Also, as per the standard recommendation in this situation get hold of the book ‘Making Every Photon Count’. You’ll save money and disappointment reading that first. 

Not sure which Celestron 130 you refer to. 

IF it is The Astro master (i think it was called so...), basically 130/650 with 1.25" focuser on a CG3, then forget astro photo. 

Don't know CCD, but DSLR camera can't reach prime focus due to insufficient backfocus, and the CG3 is nothing more than a revamped EQ2 with slightly offset saddle causing balance issues.

Furthermore it has spherical primary mirror, another showstopper. 

But maybe you're referring to something else, in this case please post a link. 

There is another thread here around on a similar setup, comparison between SW 130pds (also f5), and 150: 

General view is that an HEQ5 is the best mount for those scopes, but somebody got good results with an EQ3 too.

You can give it a look. Personally i strongly advise against anything lower end than that. 

As Louise asked: what's your budget? Importante info to help you in choosing. 

Fabio

18 minutes ago, Thalestris24 said:

Hi

What's your budget? Generally, a good quality goto equatorial mount is best for DS AP. However, you don't need a telescope to start - a dslr+lens on a good mount is all you really need to begin with.

Louise