SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

How to figure out what it is?

I have no astronomical knowledge other than knowing how to determine where the north star is and using a map ( I was a Boy Scout)

In the early mornings I sit on my NW facing porch and have noticed an object in the sky that has a red and possibly a green blinking light every morning that it is not too cloudy to see the stars. All I have been able to do is look at it with a pair of binoculars, it does not seem to move, using a compass it is at 325 degrees NNW and at an elevation of 37-38 degrees above the horizon my latitude is 42.50571 and longitude -124.40876. Other than that I am not sure if I can explain any better what it is I am seeing. I am thinking it my be a satellite but I really don't know.

If I am way out of line by posting this, my apologies, but I am so curious.  I do have a small telescope we use at times to look out over the ocean watching crab boats but it is not set up and frankly not sure where my tripod is anyway. Any help from you pros?

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If it has a green flashing light on it, it will not be astronomical.  By far the most likely explanation is an aircraft.  With no flashing green light, then it would most likely be a star or planet.  The easiest way to find out is to get the free download of Stellarium software.  Input your location and the date and time and hey presto.

https://stellarium.org/

I hope this helps

PS looks as though someone else beat me to it!

Thank you too !! It is almost all downloaded, I thought it might be an aircraft at first but it is in the same spot every morning and we live way too far away from populated areas where aircraft are so common, and like I said using binoculars and my ancient eyesight, well thank you for the help! I will let you guys know what I discover!

49caade48dd83d21082c0285e19af828.jpg