SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Best guidescope and camera combo..

Hi all

i have been using an Altair 80mm maxiguider for a couple of years now for guiding  both my 8” SCT and my 80mm frac, with a standard lodestar guide cam, but to be completely honest never been that happy with the guiding, so am lookimg for some advice..

For my two set ups is there a one fits all in the case of guiding, if so what combo of guidescope and camera, I realise the lodestar pixels are pretty big and wonder if that is part of my issues...

I have both the 80mm Altair maxiguider and the 60mm version too.

imaging camera is Atik 383L+ mono, imaging scopes are 8” SCT @ f7, plus 80mm triplet @ f6, (not both together..lol) 

Thanks in advance..:)

William 

I'm using a TS 80mm guide scope with a Lodestar with no problems. Rather than using the short rail that came with the TS guide scope I took the rings off and put them as far apart as a could on the main OTA. That took out all the vibrations coming from the single stalk under the supplied guide scope rail.

I've also added a pale yellow filter (a UV/IR cut filter would be better) before the Lodestar to reduce and focus difference between the red/blue which helps slightly in sharpening up the guide star.

I have an EQ6 Pro belt modded...

The issues I have have been varied, lack of stars, just general bad guiding graphs with too many corrections and yet PA is excellent, just not happy.

I have used an OAG in the past with the SCT but just could not get on with it..

What sort of problems would I get with the size of the pixels on the lodestar on the 60mm guide scope, (not really tried that) as it will give a large pixel scale, and don’t thing that would be too good, also would a 60mm guide scope guide the 8” SCT ok, or is it a bit small..?

:)

Let's see what would be guide resolution here.