Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

sky-watcher 200pds major problem

Hi all newbie here, i  purchased a brand new sky-watcher 200pds  with eq5 mount and syn-scan goto system and a lot of other extras .  the problem started when  i used the goto  the DEC motor started making a ticking sound, anyways i pulled it apart and found a broken tooth on the drive motor sprocket just great, i rang the supplier and he said he will send a courier to pick it up and they will send a new DEC motor  but due to my work  and the hrs as a shift worker  he  still hasn't organized a time to pick it up, dont worry it gets worse?.

Back to when i first used the scope mars was rising in the east it was so bright  i pointed my scope and found mars,i went to focus out but it kept going blurry focused in and all i got was a bright round circle , collimation was spot on well thats what i thought so i packed up the scope its been covered up in the garage ever since. two days ago i went out to the garage as i wanted to find out what was wrong with it  this is what i found.  the telescope tube has a dent  all the way from the spider to the the main mirror  the tube rings were done up finger tight  i also found a small dent  on the tube just to the right  of the focuser  i bought a baader laser collimator mark iii i checked it for collimation it was all good.