SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Can see through the sighting scope but not in the eye piece.

Hi,

I have just purchased a Zennox 76x700 reflector as my first telescope. I'm a complete novice so please be kind :-) My question is why can I focus on a distant object through the sighting scope but cant see it though the eyepiece? I'm using the H20mm without the Barlow.

Any suggestions help would be grateful :-) 

Hi and welcome. Have you tried looking at a distant tree during the day (stay away from the sun, of course)? If not, give it a try. It is easier to understand what is happening during the day. You are right to use the 20mm without the Barlow. Maybe your eye position isn't exact enough. Lastly, we've all tried to observe with the lens cap on ?. You can't be a real stargazer until you've made this mistake.

I would start by making sure the cover is off the front of the tube (that being the end nearest the eyepiece holder).  Next, look down the tube from few feet away.  You should see your face inverted in the mirror.  After that, point the scope at some trees and move it about while looking in the focuser without an eyepiece from about a foot above it.  You should see leaves moving across the field of view in the reflection of the primary mirror at the bottom of the tube created by the secondary mirror below the focuser tube.  All this is just to make sure your mirrors are reasonably aligned with each other and the axis of the tube.

1 minute ago, Cathey said:

How do I align it?