Narrowband

First image M45

bjarnit

Hi

Just had my first imaging session completed and i want to show you the results, and ask a few questions.

The equipment i have is skywathcer eq3 mount unguided and a SW 150pds.

My first target was M45 and the photo below is the result after stacking 17 X 90sek subs with dark and bias frames.

I used pixinsight for processing the image and followed a youtube video on what to do as i have no experience with image editing programs

I can see from the photo that my scope is not 100% collimated and that is something i can fix. but what i find strange is that in the lower left corner the image is realy black like it is a dead zone eventhoug there are some stars on that area.

Also you see some star drifting around the edge of the photo, but the stars in the middle seem ok for a first attempt. maybe shoot shorter subs sence i dont have a guide camera.

Also i think the image is a bit grainy, is that something that can be fixed with more images (longer exposure)?

Any input is highly appreciated.

Regards Bjarni

m45-pleiades-test-2-–-Kopi.jpg

Hello, that's a good first anyway. To try some answers at your questions:

• about darker or lighter corners: which camera do you use ? with large sensors you have more vignetting, which needs flats to correct (given your FoV and focal I could bet on APS)
  • about noise (grain) : 17 subs is probably quite low, depending on the ISO used;
    • I see your stars are saturated so it may be your processing (learn and practice the art of stretching !) or too high exposure; If the latter I can suggest a higher number of shorter subs (with same other settings).
    • How many darks did you use ? I read from many DSLR users that a too low number can actually degrade your subs before stacking, hence more noise. Try processing without any darks or bias to check the resulting noise