Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

How to get into imaging?

Major

Hi all.

It's been a while since my last visit here. I do observe every now and then, but would love to get into astrophotography. As it's the case with absolute newbies, I don't have any gear at all for this purpose, except for Nikon D810.

I tried to go out with it last night. It was paired with N50mm 1.8G, on mini tripod nicked from spotting scope. Conditions were terrible, strong winds, clouds coming and going, light pollution and rain.

I still managed to get few subs, however I'm not exactly happy with result. My processing also killed it. Total of 17 subs, 6", f/2.8, ISO 640, 13 lights, 4 darks, manually stacked in PS.

45818081885_f3200ddc16_h.jpgOrion by Tom Major

Now I would like to switch to a bit more serious gear. I thought about getting mount first - SW HEQ5PRO, but can I attach DSLR to it before I get scope for imaging?  What would be the best way of gradually progressing from DSLR to refractor? Obviously the main factor is the cost and other half not killing me after finding out about my spending on toys (again), so I'd be buying all gear separately - mount, scope, guider etc...

Cheers

2 minutes ago, Demonperformer said:

I would suggest your first action should be to get a copy of this book. It will save you time, money and heartache in the long run.

Agreed. The problem with AP is that much of it is highly counter-intuitive. There is also a great deal of misleading advertising material out there. Best to start with a sound primer.

Olly

If you already have a camera and lenses all you need to get going is a Sky Watcher Star Adventurer,  not a lot of money and they come up second hand regularly.

A thread here on imaging with the SWSA

Dave

Thank you all for input. 

I totally forgot about about the book mentioned here, even though I know it’s very good and valuable. I will get it this week, work permitting. 

@scotttumsh thank you for kind  comment .