Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Beginner with ST120

Hello, 

I am totally new to any star gazing involving a telescope but have recently got more interested, so my wife bought me a StarTravel 120.

As well as the supplied 10mm and 25mm EP, I also have the 3.6mm by Skywatcher and a Celestron Omni 2x Barlow. 

As the astronomy is becoming a bit of a family hobby, we have a range of things we would like to see between us -

Saturn's rings
Jupiter + moons
Moon
Orion nebula
Andromeda galaxy

As I understand it, the ST120 should be ok for the nebula and galaxy (EP depending) but less so for the moon. How about the planets?

Basically (other than buying another telescope, which is definitely on the cards in the future) what sort of advice can anyone offer regarding the use of the ST120 and the best accessories to be looking for?

Cheers

Welcome to SGL

I cannot advise on what to expect from the ST120 but so you know Saturn and Jupiter are not visible at the moment from the UK (assuming that's where you are located within) but Orion and Andromeda are very well placed at the moment for viewing

Clear skies

Hi and welcome to SGL.

ST120 is not very suited for high power observing such as Moon and the planets, but you can make it work with some tweak.

This scope type is known as fast achromat, having ratio of aperture to focal length at F/5, or 120/600 and you can divide each with 120 to get 1/5 - which is written as F/5 to emphasize it's focal ratio. Anything below F/6 is considered fast, F/6-F/9 as moderate and above about F/9 as slow. Achromatic refractors suffer what is known as chromatic aberration - not all wavelengths of light come to focus at the same point, and this creates color fringing around bright targets, usually violet / blue type of halo around planets and limb of the Moon. Faster the achromat - worse this aberration is. Besides creating false color - it is blurring the image and reducing contrast.