Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

Ikonnikov

M81 with an Altair RC10

I've been messing around on and off for a couple of years with an Altair Astro RC10 I bought from UK-ABS (replacing the focuser and backplate, remounting the primary in the cell and playing around with the collimation) but this is my first post of any images from the scope despite the files sitting on my hard drive for ages.

The first image contains only data from the RC10 (without a flattener) and a G3-16200 CCD (5h lum and Ha 1x1, 3h RGB 2x2, ) and was colour calibrated using the Pixinsight Photometric Colour Calibration module.

1793744135_RGBcombine_DBE_plusHa_colcal_stretchandsat_pluslum_quickprocmore_unsharp_darker2.thumb.jpg.016e28c7adc29814e299ccc5aab2570f.jpg

The second contains the same RC10 lum data but RGB and Ha data is a mix of some from the RC10 and the rest from my old C8 (using an Optec 0.5x reducer and atik 490EX CCD) totaling slightly more data overall albeit at a lower resolution. Colour was calibrated for the second image using the standard Pixinsight CC module.

newHaLRGBmod2_new.thumb.jpg.26144f896755e7fb3581e8f6c3628fa5.jpg

Although there's too much saturation (and slightly less fine detail) in the second image I think I prefer the colours even if the first image is supposedly more accurate. 

Grateful for any opinions/comments,

Paul

• Like 16

I think both are magnificent, but the second image is the one for me as the stars are just a tad bit sharper/cleaner and the colour balance looks more vibrant. The first image looks to be a little biased on the greens to me so maybe a touch of the scnr tool in Pix?

Thanks for your comments guys, a mixture of opinions on which version looks better. 

6 hours ago, morimarty said: