Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Just bought a Vixen 110L telescope for my boy. I have no experience with such things. It came with a 25 mm eyepiece, which I assume isn't useful for much. What sort of eyepieces should I consider buying in order to view objects in the sky or even get some good long-distance terrestrial views? How much should decent lenses cost? Thanks.

Welcome

That is a nice telescope with a focal length of 1035mm so that 25mm  eyepiece will give a magnification of x41 which will be nice for many objects, for example Orion and many other deep sky objects as you do not always want magnification. The Moon will be nice too.

Something like a 12mm or 8mm BST starguider would be OK and at f9.3 the telescope will not need high end eyepieces as it is not going to be fussy so a good decent eyepiece should be nice. They are around £55 each.

Generally the suggestion is get to know your telescope and then decide where you want to see more of to then chose the right eyepiece magnification.

I would be looking for one at the other end say a 30mm or 32mm to maximise the field of view you could get with the telescope as by design it will have a narrow field of view.

If it's the 25mm vixen npl plossl, it's more than half tidy and is one that won't need replacing for a long while (if ever)!

You might want to consider the others in the range to go with it.

Hopefully they'll be par-focal which would mean the object you're viewing stays in focus as you swap eyepieces (someone might want to correct me on that).

The only downsides are the field of view and the eye relief.

I suppose you won't know until you've had a go if 50° is adequate, if not, the BSTs mentioned are excellent and still relatively inexpensive.

For me, with plossl eye pieces, the eye relief gets a bit tight below 8mm.