Newbie and novice here

HI all

I am new to this site. I wanted some advise on starting astronomy.  I have always been interested but never got round to starting it as a hobby. Now, I have looked at a few scopes on Amazon and read some reviews, watched youtube vids etc., and as I am on a budget just starting out I have come across the Orion Funscope (although the word Funscope puts me off a bit as it sound like a toy). This is £71 with moon filter, also its competitors like the skywatcher heritage and celestron firstscope. I have also looked at a few binoculars like the Celestron 15/25/70's skywatchers etc.

Please can you give me some advice on what to get please. My budget is around £80 (yes low I know but like I said just starting out). I would like to see the moons craters , planet rings etc. I do not expect to see little things dancing on the middle of mars for that budget!!

Any help much appreciated.

Thank you. 

You sound like me from a few years ago. Based on your budget I would recommend that you pick up a pair of SkyMaster binoculars from Celestron and get a cheap tripod to attach them. This same setup kept me happy for months as I learned my way around the sky. Jupiter and its moons look incredible through good binoculars. Eventually you can upgrade to a legit scope and be all the more rewarded. 

Hi, Richard, and welcome to SGL.

For that budget it is hard to find a telescope worth recommending. Binoculars are a great first instrument as you "learn the sky". I don't know the skymasters, but a decent 15x70 pair of binos will serve you well. Personally, I always find a tripod a bit of a pain with binos, but you definitely need something for 15x70s. Mine get mounted on a cheap monopod, and I use them sittng down, the monopod leaning against my shoulder, so gravity holds the binos against my eyes, and this provides very solid (steady) support. But if you are OK with a tripod, that is fine too.