Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

Hey guys it's me agaiinn. Recently I have been thinking about which telescope i should buy(its going to be my first telescope!!!!!) I have narrowed it down to 2 choices! The Skywatcher explorer 200p and the Skywatcher explorer 200pds

I just can't seem to chose oneee.

I want to do Astrophotography and i have heard that the Dual Speed focuser is going to help a lott. can someone please explain how? I m a total newbie and have just begun reading about Astrophotography. 

On the other hand i ve heard that some eyepiece s will need an extension tube to help them achieve focus (due to the secondary mirror placed closer to the primary) and i really want to see through the telescope my self.I dont know if the extra 140€ that i have to pay to get the focuser and the pds and eq5 (rather than just getting the 200p and eq5 combined ) is worth it .Does it really make that big of a difference?? I hipe somebody can help me

Thanks

-Kronos

The PDS is made for astro imaging - yes you probably will need some extra spacing for visual use.

The P will not need any spacers but if ever you use it for imaging you probably wont have enough 'in' travel to achieve focus which is harder to correct than adding a spacer to a PDS

Personally I would choose the PDS if there is any chance of using it for imaging. The focuser is much nicer too.

As a note of caution - the 200 is a big scope for an EQ5 mount - not really a good match for imaging.

With fast scopes, critical focus zone is very tight. You need very good precision to focus stars to pin points when doing astrophotography.