Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

What an idiot

EyeGuy

• Replies 28
  • Created
  • Last Reply

The Rosette’s gone behind a tree now, so I’ve moved on to IC443. Should be able to get 4 hours of it. I’ve never tried if before, and I know it’s pretty dim, so I dont know what to expect, but worth a try. Good luck with the rosette.

One of those nights @EyeGuy

I tried for the HHN but a cloud bank just sat on that part of the sky after one sub. Gave up after an hour. Went to M81 M82 as it was clear. After an hour or so I checked focus - it was slightly out - wasted an hour. Up to this point I had taken only red subs. Decided to switch to lum as guiding etc was good as forecast wasn’t good after 2am. However in APT the default setup on an imaging run is ‘no filter change’ so i ended up taking a further 16 red subs by the time I realised. I changed the imaging run plan, only to get just 4 blue before subs before total cloud cover.

Faffed around for ages with a new auto focuser, and finally discovered the settings window was opening off the screen because that's where I'd placed it when I was connected to a monitor earlier in the day. I then managed to knock & interrupt the mount power supply on my first sub ? 

Not too frustrated as I always expect teething trouble with new kit.

It was clearish in Birmingham last night around 7pm but with patchy high cloud. I was itching to set up as Clear Outside showed it getting better around 11pm. In the end I didn't bother as at 8 it was overcast again and back at work in the morning. Ironically, I stayed up until 2am as was hooked on Narco's on Netflix. Went to put the cat out before locking up...crystal clear sky....typical, almost 2 weeks off work and it clears up when the holidays are over. Cold weather now, frosty but still cloud cover

5 minutes ago, david_taurus83 said: