SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Telescope for beginner

Hello! I'm looking to buy a telescope as a beginner, with a budget of around £100-150 to observe the moon, a few planets and some stars from my bedroom and garden.

I've seen an advert for a second hand Sky-Watcher BKP1145EQ1 in excellent condition for £80 in my area, is this suitable as a first telescope?

I'm a complete newbie to astronomy, therefore any advice would be much appreciated!

Thank you,

Ravi

Hi, Ravi, and welcome to SGL.

For a first scope to just observe a few bright objects, I suspect the EQ mount will be more trouble than it is worth ... particularly an EQ1, the abilities of which are (shall we say) limited.

I would go for one of the smaller dobsonians - something like this would be within budget. Yes, you will need to find things yourself (no GOTO) and will need to keep them in the field of view by "nudging" the scope. But I don't think you will do better for the money.

Enjoy the journey.

Hi there,

Thank you for your response, I appreciate it.

I don't mind having to control and find things myself, I think it'll be a good learning experience.

It's more useful to get a Dobsonian as a starter? Also, what sort of view would I be expecting to see? A decent close up view, or something from quite a distance?

Thank you once again.

I'm sure I read it is possible to set an eq mount like that so it only moves left right up down which is easier to use like a dobsonian mount works. The tripod will be wobbly but improved I think if don't extend the legs fully so sit to observe.

What can I expect to see is an excellent thread to read.

1 hour ago, rvnandha said:

I've seen an advert for a second hand Sky-Watcher BKP1145EQ1 in excellent condition for £80 in my area, is this suitable as a first telescope?