Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_globular_clusters_winners.thumb.jpg.13b743f39f721323cb5d76f07724c489.jpg

cshahar

Mars With a 1-Meter Scope

Hi Everyone:

I had two tries at Mars and Uranus using the 1-Meter Chilescope on November 27th and 28th. Sorry to post so late. I am new to planetary imaging, having focused on solar imaging for several years before. Here are the results for Mars, my first ever crack at the planet. At 9.5" in diameter and seeing about 3.5/5 this was the best I could do. I started taking these images about 5 minutes after sunset.

Thanks!

-Charles

Filter Breakdown.jpg

Mars-Animation-45-Minute-Rotation.gif

Final Color Three Scales.jpg

Edited by cshahar
  • Like 15

Very nice Charles, my efforts were a failure due to low altitude and the prevailing dust storm, now it's heading rapidly westwards behind the rooftops.

Dave

Thankfully, the scope I am using is far enough south to afford me opportunities till the end of the year, although seeing has been problematic there. Its great to hear from you again Dave. We haven't spoken in a while. Had to sell my solar stuff because I bought a house last year, I decided that instead of spending money on expensive equipment, like an Ha solar filter, I was going to rent a scope instead!

-Charles

Nice looking captures Charles. What's the going rate for the Chile scope, is there much of waiting list? 

Hi Pete. Nice to speak to you again. It is $200 an hour, with small scale discounts as your spending accumulates. Certainly not a cheap proposition. There is no waiting list. It is first come first served...

-Charles

• Like 1

Hi Charles,