Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

CLS filter issues

Hi

I've been imaging for a few months with a Canon compatible clip filter in my Baader modded 1100D, but I've lately been noticing my images all seem to have an overly red tinge to them, regardless of how I care to colour balance them.

Prime example being the Flame Nebula coming out red, as opposed to orange/yellow in other folk's images.

A quick search for other users with similar kit yields images with a similar hue to mine.

I've used the align RGB channel option in DSS to limited success, but the colours are still a little off.

I'm primarily processing with Startools and have been told once a CLS filter is in the optical chain it will block LP along with some light wavelengths you want, and no amount of colour balancing will bring them back.

If that is true, am I better off without said filter? Downside is my subs look washed out far quicker, so sub length has to be curtailed to keep the histogram in check, therefore total integration time needs to be increased.

Thoughts, anyone?

I've used a CLS clip filter for some time with my Canon 450 and I constantly had problems with star colours. I've recently stopped using it and its now become much easier to process stars. However, as you say, I can't expose for so long without it, which is OK for stars but when I target nebula I might have to put up with it and use it again. Or perhaps buy a different filter?

CLS filter is pretty basic LPS filter - and it cuts too much into spectrum.

There are color balancing methods to try to recover some of the color, but it will not work 100% since indeed some of frequencies are completely cut off. Best you can try is star colorimetric calibration.

There are other filters out there that help with LP that are far less aggressive. Hutech IDAS LPS range is considered to be the best by many people - so have a look at it.