Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Focus questions

Beginner here. So ive just purchased a used (but in good condition?) Skywatcher Explorer 200 (PDS I hope, and not the P?), I haven't got a chance to test it out or collimate it yet, received the telescope yesterday afternoon, but when looking thru the telescope out thru my window I have a hard time focusing on objects thats are lets say upp to 200 m away (houses obscuring longer distances than that).

I feel like the eyepiece needs to focus more "down" (I might be wrong though) into the tube in order to get better focus for the things I tried looking at, but the focus is already at the lowest, so it can´t go any lower.

So when focusing at objects more far away does the focus generally needs to come more out of the tube so to speak (further away from the secondary mirror)? Maybe I tried focusing at objects to near, can that be it?

Also when I used the huge 2" eyepiece (28mm) it was much worse than when I used a 1.25" eyepiece (25mm), so is there any difference between 2" and 1.25" even if they are almost at the same magnification?

Also, does collimation affect the focus of objects?

I´m a bit worried I will not be able to achieve focus on astronomical objects?

• Replies 34
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Yes I have the dual focuser and the mentioned accessories, but what made me hesitate about it being a PDS is that the color scheme is different, on mine its a black body with a gold color print saying Skywatcher and a black dovetail plate. The most other 200pds ive seen has a white print in the back and also saying "200PDS" and a green dovetail plate. So I thought mine looked more like a 200P, except the dual focuser which I guess can be swapped? Also I could not find a tube length for the 200pds, but for 200p I found 920mm and thats what my scope is, if I measured correctly, and the 200pds suppose to be shorter (don´t know how much tough?)