Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Should I move to PixInsight?

Hi, 

I'm now in my 3rd year of astro-photography and have done pretty  well initially using DSS, Star Tools, PSE for LRGB imaging.

I am currently using APP for stacking/registering, which I really like, and Affinity Photo to replace PSE, much better in my view but has more limited tutorials specific to astro. 

However, more recently I am doing more HST and HaLRGB, and am struggling with post processing. 

I am using APP for stacking registering and am very happy to stick with this, it is very good. I do a bit of post-processing in Star Tools (Stretch, LP, Decon, colour) on each channel and then move to Affinity to merge the channels and fully post-process.

I'm not sure this is the best approach, I find Star Tools great for LRGB but lacking for HST etc.

I could probably do it all in Affinity given time but it's a steep learning curve and I am wondering if PI is the way forwards?

I have been put off PI in the past by a, perceived at least, steep learning curve and difficulty to master, I'm not very good at remembering complex processes and settings especially when I only get to use them infrequently.

Any help, advice, thoughts will be gratefully received, especially with what PI could help me with. I particularly seem to struggle with developing and merging channels without introducing a lot of noise, and then getting the colours I want and am not sure whether PI would help with this or if I would still be needing Affinity photo for a lot of work? Ideally I would like to be using Affinity for minor tweaking. 

Thanks

Jon

• Replies 45
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Jon,