Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_celestial_motion.thumb.jpg.a9e9349c45f96ed7928eb32f1baf76ed.jpg

Space_Plane

The Moon - 18/11 - First Light new camera

Hi all,

Just a quick post after spending an hour the other night experimenting with my new zwo178mc-cool.

I'm new to cmos cameras, new to pipp and debayering, new to autostakkert etc lol

The following is 5 x 10ms images, 0 gain, 25 offset, roughly (and badly) focused by eye on an unbalanced 72ED-R / AZ-GTI

I've a lot to learn but it was a fun first outing.  Tips & criticism welcome ? Enjoy!

Thanks

Chris

Capture_00001_crop.thumb.png.70c3f1ca3c4fc603892ffe0af027713f.png

• Like 9

Bump up the gain - in short exposures typically used for planetary imaging, read noise is dominant component (compared to LP, dark current) and you want lower levels of read noise if possible.

It is possible, fortunately, by using higher gain values. Select gain around 250. Record in SER format, and do quite a bit more frames. 10ms is good exposure length, but you can try even shorter - like 5-8ms range (image might look dim but that can be fixed after stacking). Take darks and if you can flats (and flat darks) and include those in Pipp when calibrating. Leave bayer matrix (don't debayer) and use Bayer Drizzle in AS3!

After you complete stacking - try Registax sharpening via wavelets (just don't over do it :D ).

• Thanks 1

Thank you both for your comments and suggestions, its greatly appreciated!

I must have slid the gain and exposure sliders up...and down....and up lol over and over, it mostly looked very blown out on screen, so just took a guess ?