Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

All the gear & no idea ?

Hi all.

I am totally new to CCD webcam imaging although I have had some basic success but now I have my observatory almost complete I want to really get stuck in and understand the process much better.

I have a ZWO camera with it's own capture software, I have downloaded sharpcap 3.2 and registax.

I have done what i think are some pretty decent vids of the moon and planets and had some nice results with registax but here is where my noobness hampers me.

I recently did some avi with the ZWO software but registax can't load it and i haven't changed any resolutions etc so can't understand what's wrong so i tried using the sharpcap software but that only processes in monochrome and my camera is a colour one ? 

Anyhow here is my question.

Can you please lead /advise me on which software I need to compliment my camera and how best to process it. 

My imaging interests are moon and planets and some brightest deep sky.

I read about darks, flats, bias etc but it's all double dutch to me so i need to scrap all (which is nowt) I know and start a fresh with knowledge from you lot who do it and understand it.

Any advice / info will be much appreciated.

Note:- please give full descriptions as I probably won't know what any abbreviated suggestions are ??

Cheers.

Lee.

Hi. Though planetary isn't really my thing, I did have a dabble before but I lack focal length and the planets were quite low. I've posted the link to these videos before but they are very good and are aimed at the complete beginner. Worth a look at them all!

Ps, try Autostakkert as an alternative to Registax.

There is a very good and free program called PIPP, which stablises the image of Lunar / Solar and planetary AVI's.   It makes it possible to get a result out even when the atmosphere is like a jacuzzi.   

It's one to have up your sleeve when the need arises.