Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Eyepiece for 10” f/5 Dobsonian

Hey Guys, I’ve recently purchased a 10” Bresser Messier Dobsonian f/5, I need some advice on eyepieces. It would seem these type of scopes are quite picky in reguards to eyepieces. It is mostly going to be used for observing DSO’s. The Scope can accommodate both 1.25” and 2” eyepieces. I am a total newbie to the world of Dob’s and 2” eyepieces so all help will be appreciated. Budget is not set in concrete but value for money is a must.

I also have a 5” Mak for which I use - Revelation Astro 32mm plossl - Baader Hyperion 13mm - VixenNPL 10mm and 20mm.

• Replies 29
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Hi Shanmac, the BST StarGuiders are pretty good all-rounders and excellent value for money, good sized eye lens and good eye-relief with twist-up eyeguard found here:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=Bst+starguider&_sacat=0

For a wide field 2" ep I would go for the 28mm Explore Scientific 68° Series Eyepiece found here:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/explore-scientific-eyepieces/explore-scientific-68-degree-series-eyepieces.html

If you can afford it the ES82 series 30mm is even better with its wider AFoV, but not good if you wear specticles.  

BTW, the 13mm Baader Hyperion does not work so well in a fast scope like yours

35 minutes ago, rwilkey said:

Hi Shanmac, the BST StarGuiders are pretty good all-rounders and excellent value for money, good sized eye lens and good eye-relief with twist-up eyeguard found here:

https://www.ebay.co.uk/sch/i.html?_from=R40&_trksid=m570.l1313&_nkw=Bst+starguider&_sacat=0

For a wide field 2" ep I would go for the 28mm Explore Scientific 68° Series Eyepiece found here:

https://www.firstlightoptics.com/explore-scientific-eyepieces/explore-scientific-68-degree-series-eyepieces.html

If you can afford it the ES82 series 30mm is even better with its wider AFoV, but not good if you wear specticles.