Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

LRGB Processing Help

Been imaging for a number of years but I am new to LRGB with a monochrome camera! This is my shot of NGC2070. I think I know why it hasn't come out the best but I was hoping to get some peoples opinions too.

- My exposure was only 2 mins and made up of 5 images per LRGB channel. As I was experimenting and wanted to get some images before the night was up I only had time for 40 minutes. I think this nebula needs a lot longer than 2 mins
- I completely forgot to take Darks and Flats which is probably why I have a bit of noise
-  My focus wasn't 100% as I didn't have the electric focuser attached. Recently got one and need to attach it so  my next images should turn out sharper

I am puzzled why my image is lacking colour. There is no L channel on it, Is this due to exposure maybe or something else? Also there are some red dots, hot pixels maybe?

I have attached an image of the result.

Thanks,

Stefan,

Capture.JPG

22 hours ago, ollypenrice said:

How did you combine the colour channels?

Once you've combined them you'll need to balance them. As a rule of thumb the top left hand side of the histogram peak should lie the same distance from the left in each colour.

Olly

Hey Olly.

I just had a play around and got a much better result. The only thing I am confused about are the red dots. Possibly they are hot pixels??

Untitled-1.jpg

That looks a lot better already.

Calibration frames are a must in this hobby of ours. The noise that you mentioned is not due to the lack of calibration frames, but the lack of data. Noise (ie, the random pixel to pixel variation) in the final master images decreases with total integration time. Calibration frames help remove hot/cold pixels, amp glow, vignetting and dust bunnies. Stacking further helps to reduce faulty pixels, and average out noise.