sgl_imaging_challenge_2021_2.thumb.jpg.72789c04780d7659f5b63ea05534a956.jpg

Hello you wonderful people,sorry i have not been on here much lately,busy life and terrible cold/flu, i am considering purchasing a Barlow lense, and i would very much appreciate your thoughts and input, as a total newbie, i dont know very much, i know i want to get a 1,25 x2 barlow, but is it ok to buy a generic or should i buy a brand name and spend a little more, does it matter what i buy.

I have seen them ranging from £6.00 upwards i was thinking of getting the celestron for about £25.

Anyway thank you very much for taking the time to read and comment, best regards Dave.

In general you are always better off investing a little extra £$€ in buying good quality. In the best case you know that you can count on good quality on your side (if the view is ugly then you can know that it is almost certainly not the fault of that specific piece of equipment). If it does not work for you, you can always sell a good piece of equipment for a good fraction of new price. That will not be possible with a cheap thing. I understand you are in a budget so perhaps you want to monitor what's going on in the second hand market. Perhaps you can add a post in the "wanted" forum for a good quality, reasonably priced barlow. Good luck.

don't buy anything new for £6, it'll be junk. £25 might be a little cheap as well. It'll work, but maybe not well. Others may have them and be in a position to compare against more expensive ones. nothing worse than looking through a bad piece of glass.

• Thanks 1

Thank you  Star Forming & Brown Dwarf, very much appreciate your thoughts and thank you so much for replying, yeah i was never going to buy the £6.00 just i noticed  on eBay they start from that price, also does a short Barlow make any difference  ?.

Many thanks Dave