Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Help with pixel count and image size relations

keithc

Hi, apologies if this is a dumb question but, I'm thinking of upgrading from a DSLR (Nikon D5200 unmodded) to a mono CCD and filters. I'm leaning towards the Atik 414EX as it gets great reviews. However, although I'm not new to photography I am relatively new to astrophotography. The sensor in my D5200 is 6000 x 4000 pixels and, at the standard print resolution of 300 ppi, gives a print size of 20 x 13.33 inches. I recently imaged M31 (attached) stacked from 22 Lights. This produced a TIFF file that was a whopping 168 x 112 inches at 72 ppi. Reducing this to 300 ppi in PS gave a print size of 40 x 26 inches. Now the Atik 414EX is 1392 x 1040 pixels so at 300 ppi a single frame would produce a print size of 4.64 x 3.47 inches. what I would like to understand is the relationship between the number of stacked images and the final image size, or am I just misunderstanding this whole thing? Are there any online tutorials that would explain this to me as it relates to mono CCD imaging using LRGB filters?

M31.jpg

No relationship what so ever (well there is, but it is consequence of other things, rather than number of stacked frames).

Here is break down of what you need to know:

1. Pixel count in width and height of sensor will tell you size of image on a computer, but will also tell you print size depending on selected DPI - this part, I'm certain, you understand well. This holds unless you use binning or drizzle or other processing techniques that increase or decrease pixel count of resulting stack (advanced stuff so don't worry about this if you don't know about it yet - these are special cases of data manipulation)