Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

"Hello, Universe!"

AnotherJohnH

Hi All,

Another complete beginner here. Wow what a cool hobby, who'd have thought that another galaxy was visible from my back garden? Puts my neighbours, now even more annoying, Leylandii in perspective. But I guess the tree does block some of the light pollution.

No firm goals, but so far vey much enjoying...

• Just looking. AP looks fun, (and very expensive) but I need a hobby away from the keyboard and mouse.
  • Learning about the objects I've just seen.
  • The simplicity of a Newtonian reflector on a Dobsonian mount.
  • No electronics ... although as an electronic engineer, very tempted to instrument the dob mount with a micro-controller, so I know where it's pointed. I wonder why they don't print alt/azimuth scales on Dobsonian mounts?
  • Rubbish views of amazing astronomical objects. Struggling to find and then observe the actual photons from an object in space is surprisingly rewarding

JohnH

Hi and Welcome!

If you want to mess around, look up term "diy dob settings circles" on google - you will find plenty of ideas there (you can even try adding digital to query :D )

I believe that settings circles are not part of standard dob telescope package to be in line with the spirit of the mount and it's operation - no frills, just go out and observe.

Hi.

A dob and a binoc are the most straightforward observing tools. I might add a sky atlas and a dim red or orange (truer colors when reading the map) flashlight. Personally the battery and the diode in the torch are the only electronics I want when I stargaze but a dob that knows where it's pointing is convenient to be sure. I've handled the push-to scope in my club, that was cool. Still, knowing the star-hopping paths matters to me, so manual gear only for the time being.

Hi John

Welcome from land down under