SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hello!

PGM

Hello everyone,

I’m new to the forum and to telescopes.

I’m from Portugal, 42.9 years old (wink). I’ve been admiring the skies all my life, but only decided to deepen my interest a few months ago, after watching the Moon eclipse close to Mars back in July 27. I then started studying amateur astronomy on my own, resorting to invaluable resources such as Cloudy Nights, Skygazers Lounge, Heavens-Above, Astro-Talks, YouTube, Wikipedia, many other websites, Stellarium, a few books, and even a couple of telescope manuals. I now have some basic knowledge about a few concepts - solar system, constellations, focal ratios, focal lengths, scope designs, eyepieces, magnifications.
I’m still a total newbie regarding the practical aspects of telescopes, because I’ve never owned nor handled one. Light path is the worst for me, diagonals, extension tubes, adapters, in-travel, out-focus and so on, are concepts that I still struggle with. To this regard, I took the liberty of bothering some active members, who are all providing helpful replies. I now understand more about set-ups than I did a week ago, which was close to zero. So I’d like to publicly thank them for helping me take-off - especially Stu, Piero, GavStar, mikeDnight, DirkSteele, StarDust1, Lookitup, to name a few generous and knowledgeable people at SGL and CN.

My goal is mostly the Solar System, although this is likely to be expanded (not replaced) as years go by - like at first I didn’t care much for constellations and now I can stare at them for hours, having learned to identify the most important ones and some mythology around them.

My interest is purely visual, I have no desire for astrophotography. I can admire beautiful astro photos (if in true-color), but I have low interest for taking photos of forms and colors that my eyes can’t see. My only photos will be for the purpose of documenting my observation journal - visual mementos.