Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_constellations.thumb.jpg.6034fe99df7fe590f77a776877551964.jpg

Hi All

I'm a newbie and looking at getting my first telescope. I'm sure my question has been asked many times in one form or another so please excuse me for asking again.

I'm not sure what type of field my interest will be as planetary, deep sky etc so I'm looking at some thing that is a good all-rounder and easy to use. I've excluded Dobsonian scopes as they wont work in my garden due to surrounding obstructions and which a tripod will be best suited 🙂. My budget is £400 and I'd prefer new rather than second hand (Snobbery not intended):

• Sky-watcher Explorer 130P go-to; this looks like a well made scope from my research. Appears to have a well made focuser, it can be collimated, it will take both 2" and 1.25" eyepieces, believe its F5. Best price seen is £315 and would mean I could purchase some accessories such as new eyepieces 2", laser collimator, filters and so on. Concern; aperture is only 130mm and may have limited viewing capabilities.
  • Sky-watcher Star Discovery P150I WIFI; has a large aperture and is F5 so reasonably wide views. free intuitive app, Freedom find capable. Concern; cannot be collimated (Albeit there is a bit of room to adjust slightly via secondary mirror and also adjusting the primary mirror screws), focuser not greatest quality. Best price seen is £377