Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Removing Sky brightness

Greetings!

I'm not a complete newb, but I still learn a lot every day and have so many questions that I forget them on regular basis, because every moment another pops up.?

I know something about different noise sources and how to remove them either by calibrating or stacking. But I don't understand sky brightness or light polution noise. To me this is actually real light like the one we are collecting from DSO and I don't understand why is treated like noise. I know it is nuisance and unwanted signal. If we remove it in postprocessing doesn't that include removing a light from our dso object also? If we attenuate brightness of light polution we also influence brightness of dso. This particular aspect of noise removing is giving me headache. Could someone please explain this to me?

Br,

Andrej

As you say, it's unwanted signal. So it's not really treated as noise - procedures like stacking/calibration and noise reduction don't have any affect on it. Think about a pixel in your image - some of the signal in that pixel comes from light pollution, some from the target. By "removing" the light pollution aspect with whichever tool you use to do so, you're left with the signal from the target. So in theory, you're not removing that signal from the DSO as the sky brightness adds to the signal, rather than replaces it.

The real problem is the magnitude limiting - when part of your target is so faint that the difference between sky and target is so small it falls within the read noise of your camera, there's not much you can do to recover it. With a really dark sky, you can just expose for longer. I must admit, I don't know much about the theory of all this, so I'm sure someone wiser will be along soon...

Calibration does not remove noise.