Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

A starter camera

bomberbaz

Hello all.

I have done video astronomy before with a large F5 dobsonian before, it didn;t end well. The long focal length made my life difficult and in the end I gave in and sold the camera.

Anyway, now I have a new scopes, one of which is a F6 80mm frac, much more user friendly to use with camera.

Just looking for a few pointers on a reasonable priced bit of kit for videoing usual the moon, planets and maybe brighter dso's if it is doable.

Not looking to bust the bank, up to around a couple of hundred quid initially with a view if it takes off and works ok I may upgrade.

Oh, and I can only do short bursts for stacking as I am on a AZ mount, limitations I know but thats for me to work with.

TIA for any help.

Steve/baz

HI Steve. I am by no means an expert but have been dabbling a little in EAA (electronically assisted astronomy). I can recommend the Altair Astro GPCAM 2 which retails at about £150 and sharp cap which when you get the pro licence (which you get free with the GP CAM for a year) will do live stacking and you can use short exposures as it automatically aligns each frame so the AZ mount will not be a problem. I hope this helps.

Dave

5 hours ago, D Wright said:

HI Steve. I am by no means an expert but have been dabbling a little in EAA (electronically assisted astronomy). I can recommend the Altair Astro GPCAM 2 which retails at about £150 and sharp cap which when you get the pro licence (which you get free with the GP CAM for a year) will do live stacking and you can use short exposures as it automatically aligns each frame so the AZ mount will not be a problem. I hope this helps.

Dave

Thats great Dave, I will have a ead up on it but it looks as though its the sort of thing i am after

much appreciated

steve