SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Discouraged experienced newbie here.

deb1919

I need encouragement. I've been doing basic astrophotography for years and am still much greener than I should be. And the new challenges I've recently taken on have left me wanting to throw in the towel.

My scope is a Celestron 150mm Omni XLT refractor. Originally, it was on a CG4 mount, and I had to do everything manually, which provided a good basic education. I added a motor kit, and learned to polar align to the point where I could get about 3 mins of exposure without streaking. Sometimes.

I wanted a go-to mount, with enough weight capacity to handle anything I might buy one day. So I picked up a Celestron CGE Pro for a song, when they were on clearance. But this mount uses their All-Star Polar Alignment (ASPA), and has no alignment scope, which pretty much negated everything I'd learned before. ASPA seems like it should work well, but the beginning-to-end alignment procedure has to be pieced together from all different parts of the mount's manual. And for me, it's still just a rote procedure. For most of the steps, I'm just doing them without understanding why they need to be done. So if the alignment doesn't turn out right (usually), I have no idea why. Alignment stars and calibration stars, what's the difference? Why is one step done before another, and not after? I've not been able to find any tutorials that explain things like this. I occasionally get a good alignment, but it's always a crapshoot. And it shouldn't be.