Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Power Tanks

• Replies 47
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I use Tracer LiFeP04 batteries which have better discharge characteristics than old style gel batteries. Lot smaller and lighter too. Downside is they are rather expensive to say the least. ?

I already have a couple bought for other purposes so cost wasn’t a factor but gel batteries are a tiny fraction of the price which would be a factor if I had to buy new batteries.

I'll be honest, hadn't considered normal sized rechargeable batteries (AA), as assumed they wouldn't have a large number of recharge cycles and also they wouldn't last long before needing a recharge ... was looking at mainly powertanks, but batteries may be an option.

9 hours ago, Merlin66 said:

I've been using the same 20Ah gel cell batteries for over ten years. With a triple stage charger they seem to last forever.

These are the golf buggy/ mobility scooter type.

Highly recommended.

Sorry but I have to argue.

At work I have been using (and throwing away) lead acid gel cells for 40+ years in a wide range of equipment.

Regardless of how well you look after them, they degrade on a daily basis. There is a cumulative loss of capacity and increase in internal resistance that is a consequence of the construction.
I first learned this from a manufacturer of high quality cells and battery packs.

This is a temperature dependent factor. If you want the cells to last longer, keep them in the fridge until they are needed.

Any cell that is several years old will have suffered significant capacity loss.

It is just that if you only use a fraction of cell capacity in a session you don't notice the degradation.

As an example, our work burglar alarm has lead acid backup. In the annual test, the battery is swapped out if it is measured at 2/3 original capacity, or at 5 years, whichever comes first.