SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Shutter release cable vs computer software

Hi everyone, 

im about to purchase my first astrophotography rig and was wanting some opinions on the best method to capture subs. I’m looking at using backyard EOS on my laptop to control the DSLR, but would using a shutter release cable be better/easier? 

Thanks. 

I presume by 'shutter release', you mean an intervalometer which has a handset that can program multiple long exposures, as well as a remote shutter release? Like this - LCD Timer Shutter Release Remote

If you are, then for a beginner I would actually  recommend if you can afford it...  Whilst the goal may be to have computer control, it is always useful to have the ability to program a set of exposures in cases where the PC control either isn't available, or is playing up ?

As a beginner I used mine extensively... 

(If you are considering the wired intervalometer above, then see if you can stump up another tenner for the wireless version - Wireless Remote Shutter Controller; the wireless mode avoids having to hang the controller from you OTA, and can always be used wired if needed.) 

Ady

PS - I'm not recommending the actual handsets listed, just picking suitable-looking ones. Which is pretty much what I did when I bought mine a couple of years ago... ? 

1 hour ago, Lachlan said:

im about to purchase my first astrophotography rig

Can you give us an idea of what you are considering (which will also give an idea of your budget and initial expectation)? Sometimes people are lucky enough to start with some reasonably capable imaging kit to start with, while others have to keep to a tight budget and look for something more minimalistic when they first take the plunge... 

9 hours ago, adyj1 said:

Can you give us an idea of what you are considering (which will also give an idea of your budget and initial expectation)?