SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

APM120mm binos on iOptron AZ Pro

I'm thinking of chopping and changing my kit yet again so that I can purchase a set of APM 120mm binos. I'd like to mount them onto my iOptron AZ Pro to provide a simple GOTO and tracking facility. The binos weigh 9Kg and the iOpton mount capacity is stated as 15Kg which means it should be well within it's theoretical limits. ( Counterweights and shaft are not shown in the first image.)

As a mechanical engineer I have a niggling feeling that the set up won't be suitable but I'm unsure why - I would appreciate your feedback please.

Ioptron AZ PRO GOTO mount 2" HD Tripod

APM ED 120mm 90° Giant Observation Binoculars 1.25" eyepiece holders

L-Bracket for Altair 100mm 90° Giant Observation Binoculars Heavy Duty

35 minutes ago, Peter Drew said:

I can't see any reason why it shouldn't be an ideal setup being as the proposed binocular has 90 degree set eyepieces.   ?

Many thanks, it might be me being too conservative.

The centre of gravity of the load will be a little further away from the centre of the tripod than a single refractor so I'd have to keep it as close as possible to reduce the bending moment. 

Also I've had a thought  - I could load my 130mm frac so that it weighs more the binos and then mount it on my AZ Pro in a similar position to where the binos would be and then see what happens.

Sounds like a great set-up. I have a non-goto mini-giro alt-az mount, that shows not issues when loaded more to one side than the other. I do prefer to keep it balanced, but for scopes up to about 5 kg I have had no issues whatsoever (without counterweight). If you use a counterweight on the other side, you should be fine.

6 hours ago, michael.h.f.wilkinson said: