Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Cheap Eyepieces tested on the Moon

Stub Mandrel

Knowing it's likely to cloud over later, I decided to follow @Charl's example and get some quality lunar shots.

250 shots later, with the 150PL set up and tracking the moon I decided to work through my budget EP collection. I am no expert so I was looking at these things:

How clear/sharp the image was.

How contrasty the view was.

How comfy/easy to use the EP felt (I wear glasses)

Any trace of colour on the moon.

How the moon 'sat' in the view.

The moon is nearly full (97%) incredibly bright (it cast a shadow as bright as light from the house!) It was an amazing thing when swapping over the EP holder I saw the moon focused in my hand! I din't use a filter as although the moon was very bright, I have seen traces of colour in it under these circumstances before.

I tried three 25mm EPs. A stock Skywatcher Super 25mm, a cheap Opticstar 25mm plossl and an ultra-cheap 'Vite' (unbranded) 23mm aspheric.

The Skywatcher was OK but I was surprised by how much more contrast the cheap Vite eyepiece had. Dark patches on the central area really stood out. Craters on the terminator ranged from jet black to sparkling white. The Opticstar wasn't quite as contrasty but gave more room for the moon to 'breath'. It was the shortest ep that age the feeling of the moon being on a background. All these EPs were 'sharp', I think the Vite gave the most '3D' view and was most comfortable to look through.

Longer EPs were a Celestron 32mm plossl and a cheap unbranded 40mm plossl. The Celestron gave a strong hint of blue to some of the maria and excellent contrast, the dark patches near the centre of the disk were little chips of black and viewing was very relaxed. It gave a perfect 'silver disc on a  velvet blanket' view, lovely to see but a bit too small to enjoy the details. The 40mm wasn't quite as contrasty and also gave nice 'overview' but eye placement seemed to be more fussy.