Narrowband

My first try with Astrophotography M31 - M42

Amajed

Hi everyone, I've been an observer for a long time now, and finally decided to go for AP, I think I'm in love with it, the results alone make you forget about all the hard work you put to reach where you are right now, I've learned so many things, still learning, and I have a long way to go.

I'm an amture photographer, that help a bit I think. and I'm decent with post processing, so some steps were already there not having to learn everything from scratch.

enough with small talks, let's go technical.

Telescope:

Orion ED80 80mm f/7.5 Apochromatic Refractor Telescope + Televue 0.8x Reducer/Flattener

Orion Sirius EQ-G Mount

ZWO Mini Guide Scope + ZWO ASI224MC (for guiding)

Sony A7R III Camera

I used PHD2 for guiding, using ASCOM driver and a ST4 cable between the guiding camera and the mount.

I used a shutter remote for interval shooting and long exposures "bulb"

I used DeepSkyStacker for stacking the images, and Lightroom + Photoshop CC for post processing.

my location was Saudi Arabia, 100KM to east side of Riyadh city

here are the results

M31

x30 Exposures of 2:30 minutes + 8 Dark Frames

1284174484_AndromedaGalaxy.thumb.png.58e59af99da99262350a022944eb0243.png

M42

x25 Exposures of 2:00 minutes + 8 Dark Frames

2004858890_OrionNebula.thumb.png.648acf286297e9c458f45b65b63045e2.png

I have way too much to learn, and I'm so into this, it's so enjoyable and I'm pretty sad I did not start this earlier, better late than never ;)

Thanks guys, hope you like what you see, and please, I'm so into learning new tips and tricks, so don't hesitate to point  me to the right direction :)

I've posted these my my Instagram account, #anas_almajed I rarely update it, so I recommend not to follow if you are expecting a lot of activity ?

20 minutes ago, MARS1960 said:

Excellent first outing, very well done.