Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Altair hypercam 183c

pshepp1890

Hi all. 

Just got a hypercam 183c to pair with my sky watcher 10" quattro f4 Newtonian. I have the f4 apalantic coma corrector too. 

Question is what or how to I set the gain and offset? I've read a few pages but I'm lost. I'm new to dedicated astro cameras moving from my un modded dslr. 

Any help and tips would be great full with this camera. 

Cheers. 

• Replies 44
  • Created
  • Last Reply

Apt has native support for the hypercam, so you should be able to set both gain and offset in APT.

Reading thishttps://www.cloudynights.com/topic/599475-sony-imx183-mono-test-thread-asi-qhy-etc/page-7

Gave me a lot of info.. not the hypercam, but same sensor.. Jon Rista seems to suggest that you dont go overboard with the gain on this sensor, as it has bad amp glow and a tendency toward horizontal banding.

I have the hypercam 183m and have just started using it last week. For now I am sticking to unity gain (398) for my sensor, should be around 400 for yours too. I plan on staying between 200 and 800 and varying the exposure length to get the desired signal.. the offset I have set to 200, for no particular reason.. ?

Thanks so much for the reply. Il read that page on my next break. 

When it comes to offset I've heard anywhere between 100 and 1000 is safe. Is that the same with this camera? Also something about taking 2 second frames with the camera pointing at a white wall to set the max gain? 

Is this something you have heard of? 

Cheers

4 hours ago, pshepp1890 said:

Thanks so much for the reply. Il read that page on my next break. 

When it comes to offset I've heard anywhere between 100 and 1000 is safe. Is that the same with this camera? Also something about taking 2 second frames with the camera pointing at a white wall to set the max gain? 

Is this something you have heard of? 

Cheers

No.. can't say that I have.. ?