SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Narrowband imaging questions

Im new to narrowband imaging and have a few questions around the way the narrowband images are converted to colour - I know there are no rules and ultimately it is down to the individual how they combine and present but I just wondered about some general 'rules of thumb' to guide me in this new aspect of imaging!

So....

Do you always try and get all three narrowband images, so Ha, O3, SII and then resort to creating a false channel when you dont have time etc or are there reasons/targets that Ha only or Ha & O3 work best?  I suppose I mean are there targets that gathering one of the channels is not worth it as there is no data?

If you are generating a missing channel, is it a mix of the other 2 or can/do you use one of the channels twice?

What colour do you assign to each channel and again, in general, do you always go with the same combination, or again does this depend on target?

Do you go for the same exposures?  I found the other night that I had to double my O3 when on the Heart Nebula (which has been my only target so far), and again what about number of subs, do you try and get the same for each channel?

Are there any gotchas to watch out for when imaging and combining narrowband into RGB?  My last camera was a OSC QHY8 so this is all new, but so far Im enjoying the new challenge ? 

Hiya, I'm at work at the mo so can't go into any real detail, however in my limited experience I've stuck with the HST pallette (Ha=G, Sii=R, Oiii=G).

I try to get equal signal on all channels but most of the time the Ha dominates by a country mile. It's best to check other images out online and look at which lines were used  before you dedicate hours of precious imaging time to non existent Sii, for example. Oiii, even with a very narrow bandpass, is the most affected by the moon imho.