Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Hi New beginner here!

Hi I’m looking at getting into astronomy, it’s something that has interested me for quite some time.

My wife said she wants to get me a telescope for my birthday so it’s a win win situation!

I had been looking at some options, I had asked on some other forums but would like other opinions as well.

I had been tempted by a Besser Messier AR-90/1200 but after some research decided not to go a head due to the huge tube and plastic mounting clamshell.

I’m tempted by the Besser Messier AR-90/900 I have been assured this length is ok for the mounting supplied and it looks to be a good starter scope, that will keep my going for a while.

The other suggestion and it would be cheaper initially is the Skywatcher Evostar 90/900, one shop has pushed me more towards this even though he could earn more from me from the Besser Messier.

Any thoughts and opinions welcomed.

• Replies 30
  • Created
  • Last Reply
37 minutes ago, PeterCPC said:

It would help if you could be a bit more specific about what you want to do. Is it for observation only or will you be going down the imaging route at some point. Are your main interests planets or DSOs?

Peter

Sorry my main plan is viewing the moon and planets, and progressing on to DSO once I gain more experience.

I say astrophotography is less of an issue but it's something that may be worth having the option for so yes.

Edit: one of the reasons I was leaning more towards the Messier is many websites list it as good for novice and intermediate users, my thoughts were I'm future proofing myself a little.