Stargazers Lounge Uses Cookies

Like most websites, SGL uses cookies in order to deliver a secure, personalised service, to provide social media functions and to analyse our traffic. Continued use of SGL indicates your acceptance of our cookie policy.

sgl_imaging_challenge_banner_30_second_exp_2_winners.thumb.jpg.b5430b40547c40d344fd4493776ab99f.jpg

blinky

How to make bracket for stepper other focuser?

I’m going to fit a stepper motor to my Altair ed70, I have a nema 17 so could use that and couple to the reduction knob either with a band or directly, or I also have a byj48 which would allow me to do the same to the standard knob.  The problem is, I don’t know what would work best and I’m not very good at metalwork as I lack tools other than a drill and junior hacksaw! 

Is there any tips that folks can share, what method works best and is there something that would be easily adaptable to work as a bracket or is the best thing to get a strip aluminium and bend to a right angle then drill out the fittings?

I usually 3D print them as I also lack the tools to do any decent metal work. Of course only any good if you have a 3D printer.

My next goto would be to adapt a standard bracket - have a look on eBay there are lots of standard nema brackets available, these could then be bolted onto another piece of extrusion perhaps with t-nuts, or straight bolted to a plain strip of metal.

Yeah i do have a nema bracket now you mention it, might look at that - it means I would need to use the reduction knob to get the step side correct but I suppose thats fine.  Not sure what the pitch size on the fine focus knob is to get a belt to fit but I suppose I can use a non toothed belt?