Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Total novice to this, but..

timwetherell

Not even sure if this is the right place to ask, but anyway :) I have a 7" refractor that I've used almost exclusively for visual observing for many years now. I'd been wondering about getting a bigger aperture scope  but talking to some friends I've started to wonder if another option would be some sort of CCD based real time imaging. The ideal thing would be a big ultra sensitive CDD live feeding a small high res display in more or less real time. In some ways I'm quite surprised I haven't seen such a thing available - perhaps they are? I'd really appreciate any help and advice anyone could offer as to what would be a good camera etc? At this point I don't even know if I want something like a mirrorless DSLR or a dedicated astro camera. The main requirement is that it's relatively stand alone, I don't really want to have to run PCs in the observatory or get heavily into astro imaging, just looking for a light boost! :) I'm pretty rubbish at football so don't have David Beckham's budget, but would probably stretch to a couple of grand ish if needs be.

If I understand your intentions correctly then perhaps the Mallincam website might be worth a look.  Some of their cameras have a direct S-video output.  I know the Xtreme and Xterminator do, but perhaps others too.

I think Point Grey used to produce similar (video output) cameras with decent spec sensors too, but I'm not sure what's happening since they were bought by FLIR.  I only have dealings with them relating to supporting the Point Grey cameras on Linux, but I'm underwhelmed at the responses I've had thus far.

James

Good thing about video astronomy is you can go from diy to as expensive as you can afford,,also there are various techniques in doing it as well.

The equipment and techniques are dependent on what you want to see.