Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Nearly but not quite - another failed Moon mosaic....!!

geoflewis

Well I last tried this some 4 years ago, but clearly haven't learned my lessons....!! My October 2014 attempt was full of huge holes despite using a scope/camera (10" Meade SCT/DBK21AU.04) comination that gave a significantly larger FOV per frame and used a mere 70 videos, so what was I thinking trying again with the smaller FOV of my C14 + ASI120MM-s...!!

I took great care (well I tried to anyway) to allow margin overlaps as I move systematically across the lunar surface shooting some 121 videos over an elapsed time of 2.75 hours. I started shooting videos of 2000 frames, but halfway through realised that I would run out of disc space so reduced to 1000 frames per video, even then capturing in excess of 160Gb data. Each video was processed in autostakkert (AS3!) selecting best 200 frames, then sharpened with wavelets in Registax before taking into PS for final tweaks and cropping edge artefacts. Last the individual frames were stitched together one by one in iMerge to produce the final high resolution image......

MoonMosaicSept2018v5a.thumb.jpg.097cff7c1e22f312adbe253ec00d917a.jpg

Damn that was close, BUT no cigar...., maybe it will be 3rd time lucky, if I ever try this endeavour again....

If you can ignore the obvious missing sections, please click on the image to open a high resultion version which shows the level of detail possible with the C14 and ASI120, revealing craters and other surface features down to approx 3km diameter.

Cheers, Geof

6 minutes ago, xtreemchaos said:

that's not a fail Geof, its a darn fine image mate, cracking detail. well done, ive often not left enough overlap, you could try patching it with bits from another image but i think it looks great as it is. charl.

Thanks Charl,