SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Celestron PowerSeeker 127EQ focusing problem

Hi,

Recently I purchased PowerSeeker 127EQ , I'm having difficulty in focusing and collimation when I try to focus on Jupiter. any help highly appreciated

I'm a beginner to astronomy just few weeks into this hobby

Here are some pictures I tried to get

IMG_2815.jpg

IMG_2816.jpg

IMG_2817.jpg

IMG_2819.jpg

IMG_2820.jpg

IMG_2821.jpg

IMG_2822.jpg

IMG_2823.jpg

IMG_2824.jpg

How were you trying to take photos? Just by holding a mobile phone up to the eyepiece? That is probably the only way I would use with that telescope as it is really only intended for visual use. If you do that then the focus point for your eye and for the phone camera should be pretty similar.

The images you have posted really just look like they are out of focus so that you are seeing the inside of the telescope, not Jupiter or whatever target you have the telescope pointed at. Remember that the focuser is not a zoom function. The point of best focus is when the planet is at its smallest. With the telescope pointed at your object turn the focuser wheel so that the size of the circle becomes smaller, not larger. 

With regards to collimating this telescope, the best that you can do is to look down the focuser through a collimation cap, not an eyepiece, and make adjustments so that the mirrors and their reflections all appear centred and concentric.

Hi AstroSandy & welcome to SGL.

If this is your first telescope it can be a good idea to practice focusing in daylight to start with.

In daylight place your 20mm eyepiece in the focuser and aim the scope at a distant target such as an electricity pylon or TV antenna (keeping well away from the Sun of course) and bring the target into sharp focus. Leave the  eyepiece in place.

Take the opportunity to check/adjust the Finder scope so it points at exactly the same spot as the main scope.