Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

I've learned how, now I need "what"!

Hey all, I'm no rookie to telescoping, I have 3 telescopes in total, but none are astrophotography rigs. I'm ready to make that jump. 

I have about a $3,000 budget. What's the best whole set-up I can get with that, in your opinion?

I know there's a huge difference between deep sky and planetary photography. If I had to choose, I'd love to do deep sky objects like galaxies and nebula.

Thank you for all of your help!

James

• Replies 37
  • Created
  • Last Reply

If I were to recommend a setup I would go for a Skywatcher HEQ5, with a Skywatcher 80ED DS and a Field flattener, or a Skywatcher 130P-DS and a Coma Corrector. Both are a tried and tested setup that give great results. 

You will need a camera, a DSLR (Such as a used Canon 600D) is usually a good start into astrophotography.

You also need to be able to auto guide, but I am no expert in that regard. But I have seen people use an ASI120mm and an 80mm refractor piggybacked onto the main scope.

EDIT: I also notice you live in the US, even so I would recommend you buy from FLO (UK based seller). The prices are just so much cheaper, even when you add the shipping.

James

Agree with Galen about Skywatcher HEQ5 mount with ED80

Last Saturday night, was out with my astronomy club, and we conducted a public viewing night, on the Goldcoast foreshore, and had between 600 and 700 people come through during the night

End of the night, we played around using different filters viewing Mars

You can also get a glass solar filter for the ED80 as well

Attached pic shows my ED80 on EQ5 mount, with solar filter

I also use a jump start pack, as power source for my EQ5 mount

Can also now get a Wi-Fi adaptor, which uses mobile device to control EQ mounts, and have recently purchased one

John

Skywatcher ED80.jpg

SynScan Wi-Fi adapter.jpg..jpg

Screenshot SynScan APP.jpg

7 hours ago, GoodOleJim said: