Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

ZWO ASI1120 MC-S camera and USB extension cables

Al-man

I am quite new to atrophotography and am having problems using my recently purchased ZWO ASI120MC-S USB 3 camera. I hope 
someone on here can help. 
To get clear views of the sky my Sky-Watcher telescope is usually mounted just over 20 mtrs from the house. 
With winter approaching I would prefer to do my viewing on my desktop computer indoors.
After a bit of research I found that some people had success with these cameras using USB 3 active extension cables 
up to 25mtrs long. 
First I bought a 15mtr active extension lead and the camera connected no problem at all, so then 
I bought another 10mtrs long and connected them together. This time it was not detected by the computer via the USB 3 port,
but was detected when the lead was connected via a USB 2 port. Any ideas why this should be ? 
The USB 3 card on the computer has a lead connected to the PC power supply and the two USB 3 leads have ports for connection 
to an external 5v power supply. Is it likely to make a difference if I connect a power supply to these leads ?

I did some further tests using Sharpcap 3.1 and found when connecting the camera with just the short lead supplied to a USB 3 port,
I was getting 58 fps with a 640x480 image and about 118 fps in High Speed Mode, I then tested the camera on a USB 2 port, first using
the short lead and then the 25mtr extension and had the same results with no dropped frames !!. This doesn't seem right to me.

I also have a 20mtr RS-232 cable, could that be used with a USB to RS-232 adapter instead of using the USB 3 cables and if so would this be a better option ?

If I just use the USB 2 ports instead would the resulting images be ok ? 
I am looking for the best & cheapest option to get the camera working at about 20mtrs from my desktop.