I'm new here

Vroobel

Hi there,

I'm new at this place, so I'd like to introduce myself. My name is Tomasz, I'm a true astronomer amateur since May 2017, I bought then my 10" Bresser Messier Newtonian telescope with Dobsonian mount, but I am interested in astronomy and the Universe in general all my live. Please forgive me any misspellings if happen - I'm not English.

I'd like to show you my DIY experience related with astronomy. After one month of pure observations I was considering some amends in my telescope, so within a few next months added two step motors and my own solution of motorizing Az and Alt axes: GT2 timing belt. The Arduino and Nintendo controller were responsible for steering them firstly, but I quickly understood that they are too weak for some astronomical calculations taken from fantastic book: "Astronomical Algorithms" written by Belgian astronomer Jean Meeus, so the Rasperry Pi computer became its successor. Presently I create my own software responsible for tracking the objects and my goal is to make my own GoTo-like system on the Dobsonian mount. You can see the earlier stage of the process in my YouTube channel:

https://www.youtube.com/channel/UC9AMgmFpcYcRZuP65-SghPA

I also have my own blog, unfortunately still in Polish language, because of lack of a time for proper translation (I'd like to do it myself). There are most actual and accurate descriptions and pictures of the project and its every single part. If you are interested in reading using the Google Translator, you can find it here:

https://astrovroobel.wordpress.com/  (https://astrovroobel.wordpress.com/krok-po-kroku/)