Banner.jpg.b83b14cd4142fe10848741bb2a14c66b.jpg

Captures from last night

barkingsteve

Ah, looks like you had a very satisfying tour of the universe, congrats!

Cloudy nights in my area yesterday unfortunately. 

You might want to mix exposure times for the globular clusters as it also brings out the core.

Cheers for sharing!

2 hours ago, widotje said:

Ah, looks like you had a very satisfying tour of the universe, congrats!

Cloudy nights in my area yesterday unfortunately. 

You might want to mix exposure times for the globular clusters as it also brings out the core.

Cheers for sharing!

thanks. Funny story, i have been using sky safari 5 plus  to control the scope since i got it a few months ago. i had a few issues with connection drop outs, tracking and the scope slewing by itself. Decided to try celestron's sky portal last might, no issues :D   i just added M13 to my original post, tried using dss for the first time, seems to have helped a little with the core but i will take your advice on board, thank you.

2 hours ago, RobertI said:

Very nice, some lovely colours coming through, what kind of post processing did you do, just to get an idea what the original looked like. 

thank you. just the usual brightness, contrast, levels, curves and colour balance. i basically fiddle until it looks a bit better than original. here are a couple of unedited saved as viewed

Stack_40frames_401s.thumb.png.8cebfd98f04408fc2937920ef87ad1cc.png

Stack_33frames_384s.thumb.png.8984a9b5c208b1ce136365ab5baf77b0.png

o7

Interesting to see the originals, I assume you are using Sharpcap or similar to do the live stacking/adjustment, does it alllow you to do live adjustments?

I find that Starlight Live is very good, and the 'live' adjustments are so effective, that post processing does not really improve things.