SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

APO for skyguider pro + fuji x-t20

Hi, I'm very new to this but I'm really loving astrophotography despite living in a very light polluted region without any chance of finding dark skies. I do have an unmodified Fuji X-T20 (APS-C XTrans sensor), an skyguider pro and a humble Samyang 12mm + nisi light pollution filter.

To capture deep sky objects I was considering to buy an small APO I can use with my skyguider pro and my x-t20.

I was pondering between WO Z61 and WO star 71-ii and a 2" IDAS filter. suggestions?

also, would it make sense to get an IDAS for my 12mm replacing the NISI? milky way with foreground on parks on this polluted town (Brighton, UK)

• Replies 25
  • Created
  • Last Reply

I also have the Skyguider Pro. I had my eye on the WO71 you mentioned as well as the WO GT81. I've also got my eye on the Sky-watcher ProED 80. Right now I'm just using a DSLR camera and lenses until I pull the trigger. I'm interested to see what others recommend.

Once you increase your resolution by using a much longer focal length you're going to find you need vastly higher tracking accuracy. I see the Skyguider has an ST4 guiding port. Were you thinking of guiding? I'm just wondering if you might not be better off moving up to a somewhat longer lens without going all the way to the 300-ish mm of the little Apos.

Olly

6 hours ago, ollypenrice said:

I see the Skyguider has an ST4 guiding port. Were you thinking of guiding?

the idea was in my mind indeed. the star71 comes with rings to mount a guider while the z61 seems too small for that. do you think it would be cost effective to spend on the star71-ii and a guider kit for this "lightweight" setup? recommendations?

6 hours ago, ollypenrice said:

I'm just wondering if you might not be better off moving up to a somewhat longer lens without going all the way to the 300-ish mm of the little Apos.