Banner.jpg.b89429c566825f6ab32bcafbada449c9.jpg

Ham radio ISS contacts

Kn4fty

Howdy folks! I was just curious how many amateur radio operators are on the forum. Also have any of you made Ham contact with the ISS? I'm currently working on a hand held dual band yagi antenna. I've finished the 2 meter half and need to finish the 440 side. My intention is to make ISS contact with only 5-8 watts. Can it be done? I have no idea. I just going to try to wing it since I'm the only Ham I know that has any desire to try. I've googled ways to do it, but some of those use equipment way out of my wallets ability. If anyone here has tried it using super simple equipment, I would love to hear your thoughts. Thanks 

Rob

• Like 6

I was a telecommunications engineer for a couple decades and almost got into amateur radio a couple of times, still a shortwave radio fan and these off the grid communications networks are important backup systems for society and those who take part indeed provide a service to the rest of us I do hope we never need. The goal of ISS with a low amplitude signal is a lofty one, best of luck...Kn4fty

Will do Demon. Thanks SIDO. I know it can be done. They usually have a couple of the astronauts licensed for amateur radio. Many hams have contacted them. Contacts never last long since there are tons of hams making the attempts. But it would still be cool to do. :)

• Like 2

I'm G0IBI, mostly on HF but I have 2m too. I know quite a few hams in the UK have QSO's the ISS but it's not something I have thought about doing. Good luck and let us know how it goes..

73's

Ron

Edited by Ronclarke
  • Like 1

Well, I’ll show my hand and say that I have a licence, G3ZYR, but I would also point out that I was extremely young when I qualified for it. (The G3 prefix ran out of letters a good while ago!)