SkySurveyBanner.jpg.21855908fce40597655603b6c9af720d.jpg

Hallo from Bavaria!

Space Oddities

Hello Stargazers!

After reading SGL for some time now, looking for answers to my very common questions, I finally registered :) 

A few words about myself: I'm fairly new to astronomy and astrophotography. Having lived most of my life in Paris, where you can't see many stars, I never really had the opportunity to dive into this hobby. Even though I've always been fascinated by space, and spent hours watching every documentary I could find about astronomy.

As far as I remember, my first astro-wow was in Finland, where I studied a few years ago. The skies were simply amazing, away from all light pollution, and seeing so many stars was an awesome experience. Not to mention the marvelous Aurorae Borealis (that's actually my 2nd astro-wow!).

The virus was in! But it's truly a couple years ago that I got started, after I moved to Bavaria and its more rural skies. I purchased my first (and modest) mount, an iOptron Skytracker, that allowed me to photograph galaxies and nebulae.

My setup is very limited for now, but lightweight and more than enough for getting started :) 

• iOptron SkyGuider Pro mount
  • A Fujifilm X-T1 for main targets, and a recently acquired ZWO ASI224-MC for planetary imaging
  • Various lenses, but I mainly use a Samyang 135mm f/2 and a Canon 300mm f/4 (+/- 1.4x TC)
  • A small 4" Maksutov (SkyWatcher 102T)

Now, I have a lot to learn, and many unanswered questions (most of which, I haven't even asked myself yet)! Very recently, I discovered planetary imaging, and I'm in the process of testing everything. I've already seen Saturn and its rings through my telescope (yet another astro-wow...), Jupiter's Moons and a fantastic lunar eclipse not long ago. I can't wait to start photographing these!